The No-Nonsense Guide to Islam – Review

The No-Nonsense Guide to Islam is by Ziauddin Sardar and Merryl Wyn Davies. I actually bought it as a birthday present for my dad a year or so ago, I don’t think he ever got the time to read it. I didn’t have anything to read so I thought I’d give it a go.

It’s short and sweet, I finished it within a couple of days. You might be wondering why a Muslim would read a book like this, lol. I don’t know everything about Islam, but you’re not really going to learn anything too complex from a little book like this. For me it’s mainly because there’s lots of things about Islamic history that I don’t know and would like to learn about. I found this was good for teaching me about all the different Islamic empires and the order they came in and how far they stretched, and also about all the amazing things that came out of these empires. Examples of things that were invented by the Muslim world include: algebra, hospitals, the guitar, surgical instruments, trigonometry and the foundations of what would eventually be a camera. Mindblowing.

There are a few minor inaccuracies in the book. However if you’re new to the subject you won’t pick them up anyway. Also this book really doesn’t teach you barely anything about Shia Islam much as it tries to give the impression that it does, so that’s something to bear in mind if you read it.

It’s an easy read in terms of writing style and it’s short as I said so not difficult or scarily academic.

Would recommend if:

– You are interested in Islam/Islamic history, and you are quite new to these subjects.

