Pole Progress

I’ve reached a bit of a plateau with regards to my progress at pole fitness. This is definitely because I haven’t been working out and my strength isn’t increasing enough to move on to moves that require more upper body strength. On the other hand, I did manage to invert on my right for the first time ever on Monday which was pretty neat, but that was more about overcoming a mental block than strength.

When I come back from my honeymoon I’m going to make a concerted effort to go to the gym at least once a week and ideally do conditioning in my flat once a week as well. It may not sound like much but I’m sure it will make a difference over time, on top of daily flexibility training and weekly or ideally twice weekly pole sessions. The next thing I really want to start work on is learning the back grab (also called reverse grab), but because I can’t hold my body weight with one arm I’m not able to learn it yet. So basically I need to be able to do chair spin (also called seat) one-handed which as of yet I’m just not strong enough for. My interim goals therefore are going to be:

– 1 handed sunwheel spin consistently on both sides. This is probably the step just below a one-handed chair spin.

– Chair spin reverse grab prep consistently on my left. At the moment I can do it consistently on my right side, but only now and again on my left. It’s funny because this is the only thing in pole that I can do better on my right than on my left. And I’m right-handed. It’s really strange.

After those things then the next step up will be invariably be 1 handed chair spin on both sides!! When I’ve finally conquered that I can go on to learn back grab which looks really cool so I’m really eager to learn it.

I also need to work on creating momentum when I spin. I think I know how to go about doing that it’s just I panic when I’m about to start and forget in the moment haha. But I’ve been doing a lot of reading and watching videos and I think I’ll book a private session with one of my instructors after honeymoon to really work on getting lots of momentum into my spins. It will make them look so much nicer and make me feel a lot more confident as a performer.

Oh and two more goals before I forget:

– CONQUER FRONT HOOK. I hate this spin. I can’t get momentum, I just get stuck in a weird pose on the pole! This is because I’m not pushing my hips out properly I know. I just can’t seem to do it.

and

– Get into a chopper/V on the pole. I know what I’m doing wrong – I’m not bringing my hips up high enough and leaning back enough to go over my head into a proper V. But for some reason understanding what I’m doing wrong is not allowing me to suddenly be able to fix it. Any tips on how to get my hips up properly??

Hopefully having a bunch of attainable goals will help speed up my progress. It will take me a lot of practice still to achieve them but they are nonetheless doable. Practice makes perfect. 🙂

