Daddy Issues

You may or may not have heard about the recent “swat attack” on one of the founders of Mumsnet, a website for, yes you guesed it, mums. What is a “swat attack”, you ask? I didn’t know what it was either until I read about this incident. Basically it’s when some really horrible, stupid person makes a prank call to the police to say that something awful is happening at a specific address, something really dangerous that would require a swat team to turn up and forcefully investigate. This is actually what someone did to Justine Roberts – you can read about it here. How scary must that have been?! And I guess the real question is, why would anyone waste their time and do something as horrible as that to someone just because they run a website dedicated to mums?! Not only that, but they also succeeded in a Ddos attack on the website and obtained some users’ log-in details, which they published on twitter. The twitter account who claimed to be responsible follows only one twitter account; that of fathers for justice. Hmm.

Sad, really. There is much injustice in this world, much to be angry and upset about, and many good causes that these people could put their skills to…but termporarily sabotaging mumsnet isn’t one of them. The absurdity of this news has just really stayed with me so I thought I’d post about it here in case I’m the only person I know who is not a mum but often has a cheeky look at mumsnet…no? Just me? Ok…

